Confessions of a Marathoner

Recently when I casually worked the fact that I am a marathoner into an unrelated conversation (surprising how good I have gotten at that) the person’s response was, “Oh so I guess you don’t smoke.”

Ummm… No.

Smoke? I rarely even drink. Hello MARATHONER here!

But then I got to thinking about it, and there are plenty of activities I partake in that are not so conducive to running.

  • Staying up until ungodly hours
  • I have a weakness for all things cheesy and spicy (read Mexican food)
  • I don’t drink enough water
  • I have a bit of a sweet tooth
  • I crank up my mileage too quickly
  • I don’t like eating breakfast
  • My abs are total mush and I hate doing core work
  • I would rather sleep in than go for a long run

I may not smoke, but I am hardly a saint. I have plenty of room for improvement.

This entry was posted in Just For Fun and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Confessions of a Marathoner

  1. michelle moore says:

    layne i’m sorry I haven’t commented in a while! I do read though 🙂 I totally know what you’re saying clearly I am no marathoner but I try to be healthy and as much as I try to down my portions, put in gym time and drink water I clearly get little to no sleep, don’t eat the best, and i totally have a giant sweet tooth/love comfort food! We should workout together sometime soon!

  2. And then eat sugar, take naps, and smoke!

  3. Candice says:

    Don’t we all! I think that even the most dedicated runner have some habits they could improve upon. Don’t focus on the maybe unhealthy habits you have, just think about all the amazingly good habits you have! Like running 🙂

Leave a Reply

