Physics, Psychoanalysis, and Self Discovery

According to my friend Sir Isaac Newton, “An object at rest stays at rest and an object in motion stays in motion with the same speed and in the same direction unless acted upon by an unbalanced force.”

This is supposed to be a smart physics picture!

How does this apply to me (or you)?

The hardest part is getting started. I just ran a marathon (in case you missed the memo). This object was rollin’ baby, so I was confused about how I came to this screeching post marathon halt.

My running isn’t the only aspect of my life that has been suffering. You probably noticed a negative tone to my blog lately. I haven’t felt satisfied with my writing, school work, or relationships.

I think that I had this fantasy that if I became a marathoner I would become the person that I am always striving to become: more patient, organized, upbeat, attractive, and successful.

I crossed the finish line, took a deep breath and a swig of water, and found that I was still the exact same person… unfortunately?

Although the marathon was an amazing experience, it was not the magical transformation that I had somehow allowed myself to expect. I was/am disappointed, and have had a difficult time motivating myself once I found that my experience did not meet my expectations.

But here is the thing, if I did not already possess my desired qualities, I would not have been able to complete a marathon in the first place. My training required me to patient with myself, and upbeat in the face of adversity. It took organizational skills to stick with my training plan, not to mention traveling 1,000 miles just to make it to the start line. And success? You want success? I just finished a marathon almost 8 minutes faster than my goal! How much more successful can a person get?

There was no magical post marathon transformation because the things I was looking for were there all along.

Now that I have had this experience of self discovery it is all about owning it.

I have the ability to remain in motion despite “unbalanced forces”, and it is time to take responsibility to for myself and be proactive in all areas of my life.

This entry was posted in Self Discovery and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

