Food for Thought

There are 145 days separating me and the Chicago Marathon. That is just under 21 weeks. It’s time to get serious. This is week one of me actually following my training plan. Thus far in my blog posts I have not done a lot of talking about what I eat.

First of all I don’t want to bore you guys. I tend to be pretty repetitive with my meals and how many times can I post pictures of peanut butter and jelly. Secondly, it seems a little too obsessive to be constantly taking pictures and recording everything I eat. Most importantly though I don’t always make the best food decisions.

If I am going to take my training seriously, then I also need to take fueling my body seriously. Let’s face it a slice of lime after a tequila shot does not count as a serving of fruit.

So, I spent my time last night preparing food for the week.

From top to bottom left to right: tofu and onions, brown rice, mixed veggies, strawberries, cucumbers, broccoli.

Don’t worry there won’t be tons of obsessive pictures, but expect a few more to come!

This entry was posted in Chicago Marathon 2011, Food and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Food for Thought

  1. no diet coke on wednesdays says:

    you forgot some key items, cupcakes, sour gummy worms, peach rings, swedish fish, route 44 slushies, ice cream, mozzarella sticks, margaritas, wine! just messing with you hope you got a laugh from it. hahah

  2. my1000miles says:

    Yeah I do have a sweet tooth, and a soda tooth, and an alcohol tooth 🙂

  3. michelle moore says:

    i think consistent good food is ALMOST the hardest part for me,because sometimes i get so tired of prepping it and cooking and cleaning all in a short time span.but im glad you’re sticking to it 🙂
    how do you feel about tofu?

  4. my1000miles says:

    I think that tofu can be tricky. It took me a long time to figure out how to cook it properly, so that it cooks all the way through in peices and doesn’t fall apart. But it tastes pretty much like whatever you season it with. I love it in pasta dishes with red sauce, and in wraps with some kind of yummy condiment like honey mustard, hummus, spicy salsa or ranch. Tofu by itself is very bland.

Leave a Reply

