Kicking Coffee to the Curb

I am an ogre in the mornings. I wake up mad, hateful, and disoriented. My alarm clock might as well be a medieval torture device. I hate to get up.

My morning routine generally consists of moaning as get out of bed, stumbling to the kitchen, and struggling to make a pot of coffee… until a few weeks ago.

In an attempt to help control some problems with anxiety I have eliminated caffeine from my diet. Now, I feel like a completely different person in the mornings, or rather I feel more like myself and less like Shrek.

I did experience some withdrawal symptoms at first (headaches, fatigue etc.), but it was actually much easier than I expected. Not only do I feel better in the mornings, I actually feel better all day long. My appetite is more stable. My heart doesn’t race as often. I don’t feel lethargic in the middle of the afternoon.

Giving up my morning jumpstart may be one of the best changes I have made.

This entry was posted in Food. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

