The Motivation Behind The Marathon

My life is a mess. Essentially I was so preoccupied with a certain relationship that I pushed aside all of my other priorities, including running, schoolwork, my sorority, and all other important relationships. All of that the energy that I poured into worrying about this thing was useless. Right now I am feeling completely deflated and I think it’s a good time to remind myself, and explain to all of you why in 191 days I will be running 26.2 miles.

When I was in highschool I loved my body. Don’t get me wrong I had my insecurities, but my body did amazing things for me. As a cheerleader I twisted into inhumane positions; I flipped through the air; I threw people up and I caught them. I worked really hard, and I knew that no matter how I looked my body did incredible things for me, and I respected myself.

I miss that confidence. I miss feeling that strength in myself. As I finish up college, and my twenty-third birthday approaches, I want to find that part of myself again. I have spent a few years not thinking about my health or fitness level, and I feel like without that part of me I don’t know who I am.

And of course being myself, I couldn’t settle for just getting into a regular exercise routine. I had to publicly commit to running 1000 miles and register for a marathon.

You know what they say about shooting for the moon…

Here are some old cheerleader pics for your mockery and enjoyment 🙂

Beach Flips

PYRAMID

FLYING

Yes, the trophy is almost as tall as me.

This entry was posted in Chicago Marathon 2011, Goals. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Motivation Behind The Marathon

  1. michelle moore says:

    im getting my high school body back toooo!

  2. my1000miles says:

    I was very tiny in highschool. My senior year I weighed 112 pounds at one point, and it was a struggle to stay that little. I NEVER intend to be that small again. I just want my highschool CONFIDENCE back. It’s more about what I’m doing with my body than how it looks.

Leave a Reply

