Marathon Melt Down

  Shortly after I announced on here that I am officially in training for a marathon I did something pretty characteristic of myself; I FREAKED out.

Suddenly the idea of running 26.2 miles seemed overwhelming, and impossible.

“I’m not a runner. I never have been a runner. I didn’t even run track in high school. I was a CHEERLEADER for crying out loud! We only ran when we were in trouble. I have never even run close to the marathon distance. I have no idea what I’m getting myself into. I don’t even know where to start.”

Luckily I have since managed to get things under control. For one, I have found my own personal cheerleader (Codi). She has run at least one marathon and a couple of half marathons. She sent me a huge facebook message full of encouragement and excitement.

Also, I now have a game plan. I purchased an e-book called Marathon Roadmap: The Vegetarian Guide to Conquering Your First 26. 2. It is written by Matt Frazier who is a vegetarian marathoner and ultra-marathoner (meaning races even further than 26.2 miles), and Boston qualifier. I have been following his blog, No Meat Athlete for almost a year now and have tons of respect for this guy. I haven’t read the whole book yet, but I already feel so much better.

Chicago is eight months away. I have PLENTY of time. I’ve already been running around fifteen miles a week for almost two months, so I have a pretty good base. Now I have a training plan. The book has told me exactly what to do. The experts have figured out the formula. All I have to do is put in the work. I can do that.

I can run a marathon, not today, but come October 9 I will be prepared.

This entry was posted in Books, Chicago Marathon 2011. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

