When Chuck Norris does a push-up, he isn’t lifting himself up, he’s pushing the earth down.

Ahhh, there’s nothing like a quick jab at a celebrity to boost one’s self-esteem.

But really, this is how I feel about push-ups. They have got to be the single most miserable exercise maneuver ever created. Every time I do a push-up it feels as though I am pushing the weight of the entire earth down; surely it is not just my own body weight. Push-ups hurt my arms, shoulders, back, abs, butt, legs, neck, and even my teeth (from gritting them together). This is exactly why I decided to do them the other day. Yeah, they are freakin’ miserable, and that’s how you know they are working.

The other night I ran/ walked a total of 4.5 miles, which happens to be a new distance PR for me! I walked a few warm up laps, ran a mile, walked a lap, did 20 v-ups and 20 push-ups, walked a lap, ran another mile, walked a lap, 20 v-ups and 20 push-ups. I did this little cycle for three miles, resulting in 4.5 miles of walking/running, 60 v-ups, and 60 push-ups, probably my hardest workout thus far.

And let me tell you, those push-ups kicked my ass.

 I felt okay yesterday. I was actually a little hard on myself for not pushing myself to do more, because I felt so good. This morning it is a COMPLETELY different story. I feel like crap. It hurts to lift my arms up straight. It hurts to arch my back and stretch my abs. That’s good though. I’m going to think of the pain as progress. My body hurts because it is getting stronger.

I will be embracing that hurt all day long!

This entry was posted in Cross Training and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to When Chuck Norris does a push-up, he isn’t lifting himself up, he’s pushing the earth down.

  1. You are a beast! I hate I missed that work out. I’m about to go run myself – and work out my abs.

    I think we should d the spartan workout for a month haha.

Leave a Reply

