The 1000 Mile Goal

As December 31st approached I did a lot of thinking about what my resolution would be this year. I know that many people scoff at the idea of a resolution. Most people fail at theirs, sometimes the same one year after year. Fortunately, I am not one of those people. I love the idea of taking stock of your life and identifying aspects that can be positively impacted through change. The new digits at the end of the date seem as good an excuse as any to do a little prioritizing.

I have been running irregularly for years, but I have never managed to incorporate it as an important part of my daily life. In 2011 I want to become a runner. I want to run consistently, and in order to do that I am going to work towards a year-long goal of running 1,000 miles prior to December 31, 2011.

I have chosen to blog this adventure because, I think it will help me to track my progress in distance (how far I am from that 1000) as well as becoming a more fit individual. I am also hoping that if my friends read this blog they will hold me accountable. It would be much easier to quit in private than with people watching me. The last thing I want is to fail in front of an audience.

This entry was posted in 1000 Mile Goal and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The 1000 Mile Goal

  1. myrna reesor says:

    Go Layne!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

